U.S.-Nordic Nations Issue Statement Committing to Arctic Precautionary Approach

In a joint statement issued today, the U.S., Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway, and Sweden among other things stressed a commitment to managing the Arctic region in an ecosystem-based approach, which the statement says “balances conservation and sustainable use of the environment,” as well as working toward the “highest global standards, best international practice, and a precautionary approach” when considering new and existing Arctic activities, including oil and gas.

Join Us

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.